Am I technically challanged?

January 17, Update

Here the response i got from Amazon after letting them know about my difficulty:

Thanks for contacting us at Amazon.com.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced and I do understand your concern.

To login to our wbsite :

1. Click the link near the top of the home page that says “New customer”

2. On the next page, leave the e-mail and password spaces blank and click the Amazon.com tab at the top of the page.

I’m sorry that there is no sign in button, I appreciate your thoughts and I will be sure to forward your suggestion to the concerned department.

Customer feedback like yours is very important in helping us continue to improve the selection and service we provide.

As a representative of Amazon.com, I want to assure you that we value our customers’ trust above all else–it’s the foundation on which our company was built. Please know that we’ll continue working hard to ensure that you receive accurate service, and to minimize the chances of anything like this occurring again.

While the page on which you enter your password may not be encrypted, this simply means that the HTML describing the form itself is sent in the clear.

As the password is typed into the form, it is not going over the network. Only the local browser sees data entered into the form until the user submits the form by clicking the sign-in button.

The action of the form is of particular importance–that’s the URL to which the HTTP POST will go, and the sensitive data such as your password is sent in that HTTPS POST to a secure web page. Therefore the POST, including the password, goes over an encrypted SSL channel, ensuring the security of your information.

I hope this explanation is helpful. Thank you for shopping at Amazon.com.

I am not completely sure how I should conclude that a link titled “personalized recommendations” actually means “sign in”, but Amazon people are definitely thinking differently.

________________

First i spent 3 minutes looking for the “sign in” button on Amazon homepage. Then i couldn’t find a way to view the exact deal details from the view that shows all buying options for a specific product. I did not succeed in both cases and had to use alternative paths where one could expect a single click.

Is it me being technically challenged, or Amazon has a really bad user interface?

One Response to “Am I technically challanged?”

  1. jcrispy Says:

    Hey don’t feel bad my buddy was playing Crysis and to play it said “press any key to start” and he said “I can’t find the any key.” Ha ha ha funny stuff. And everyone has trouble with things sometimes in their lives.

Leave a Reply

